Links to sites with ancient coins for sale.
    Contents:  Major fixed-price sites are listed first.  
        Sites with frequent auctions.     
        Sites with links to upcoming major auctions (auction consolidators).
        Fixed-price sites
        Other, smaller, fixed-price sites.
        English and European fixed-price sites.

Sites with many ancient coins for sale:
If you want to buy an ancient coin today and not wait, try these:

vcoins at vcoins.com is the "Ancient Coin Mall" with over 100 dealers and a great search engine. 

MA-Shops http://www.ma-shops.de/antike/
    A huge site much like vcoins, but focusing on European dealers.


Forum Ancient Coins, Joe Sermarini 

http://www.forumancientcoins.com/catalog/roman-and-greek-coins.asp
    Recently he seems to be also listing Forum coins on vcoins. This site also has an important discussion board with many topics well-arranged and frequent interesting contributions. This is a major site.

CNG   http://cngcoins.com/
    The most prominent dealer in the US, with major auctions of high quality coins, biweekly electronic auctions, and many high-quality fixed-price coins for sale. It also has a very large searchable database of previous sale results, which is a important research tool.



Lesser fixed-price sites:

Augustus Coins   http://augustuscoins.com/index.html
    also has catalogs and books for sale at  http://augustuscoins.com/numislit.html

Bargain Bin Ancients   http://bargainbinancients.com/zen/index.php

Roman Coin Shop  http://www.romancoinshop.com/

Ancient Imports  http://www.ancientimports.com/

 


Some sites have frequent auctions:
 
Pecunem   https://www.pecunem.com/   

Agora Auctions:   http://agoraauctions.com/


eMaxbid    http://emaxbid.com/content/

Numismatik Naumann   https://www.biddr.ch/auctions/numismatiknaumann/upcoming

Naville Numismatics   http://www.navillenumismatics.com/home-wts/

A European site, Catawiki, for auctions of all kinds with numerous coin auctions (but, they do not accept PayPal, making it hard for US buyers to pay): 
       http://auction.catawiki.com/coinauction


Harlan J. Berk (He hosts a large buy-or-bid sale of quality on his site and has some, but only a few, fixed-price lots in addition)  http://hjbltd.com/

London Ancient Coins Ltd. (LAC)  http://www.lacoins.co.uk/products.aspx?id=1


The auction site associated with vcoins    http://www.vauctions.com/

Frank Robinson. A few good auctions a year:  www.fsrcoin.com


****** Major Auction Sites--Consolidators:

Many auctions, including most major upcoming auctions, and increasingly numerous e-auctions of major and minor firms, are listed at
SixBid  http://www.sixbid.com/
The web page you are reading does not list sites of firms with infrequent auctions that would be regularly listed on sixbid.

Biddr:  https://www.biddr.ch/   "A live bidding platform that serves as an interface between Auction houses and on-line bidders."

Dea Moneta  http://www.deamoneta.com/
    This is a venue similar to sixbid but not as sophisticated and mostly European auction houses.

Numisbids   https://www.numisbids.com/
    Still another portal to auctions, many the same as found at sixbid.

*** Firms that seem to run their own auctions (infrequently).

InAsta  http://www.inasta.com/
    An Italian auction house.

Thesaurus   http://www.thesaurusaste.eu/
    An auction firm in San Marino

Bolaffi   http://www.bolaffi.it/index.php
    An old numismatic firm in Torino, Italy. 

Delcampe  http://www.delcampe.net/page/category/cat,1133,language,E.html
    A large auction and fixed-price site with many sellers. Many fixed-price coins are overpriced; some are not.


********


Fixed-price sites

Augustus Coins  http://augustuscoins.com/index.html
    also has catalogs and books for sale at  http://augustuscoins.com/numislit.html

Bargain Bin Ancients   http://bargainbinancients.com/zen/index.php

Time Line Originals   http://www.time-lines.co.uk/

Roman Coin Shop  http://romancoinshop.com/

Bill Rosenblum http://rosenblumcoins.com/
    A long-established dealer specializing in Jewish-related coins. He has auctions, too.

Baldwin's  http://www.baldwin.co.uk/    http://www.baldwin.co.uk/coins/ancient.html   (specifically for fixed-price ancients)
  London, England. They have major auctions and fixed-price lists. They are one of the most prominent dealers in English coins and they also offer many high-quality ancient coins.

Classical Coins, Dave Welsh   http://www.classicalcoins.com/

Silvae Coins and Antiques (Beverly Hills, California)  http://silvaecoins.com/

Tantalus     http://www.tantaluscoins.com/forsale.php
    Many members of this site offer coins for sale. Most are low grade and overpriced by hopeful owners.

Steven Album   http://www.stevealbum.com/
     The most prominent dealer in Islamic coins.

Nova Marketing   http://novamarketing.ch/   (many high-quality ancient coins)


Nomos (Alan Walker)  http://www.nomosag.com/
    A major auction house in Switzerland (associated with CNG) with a only very high-end coins for sale in their "webshop"

iNumis (French firm) http://www.inumis.com/

Zuzum Judaea  http://www.zuzimcoins.com/

J.B.J Coins, (John Jensen) Copenhagen Denmark.  Oriental (Parthian, Persis, etc.):  http://www.jbjcoins.dk/For%20sale.htm
    Many Roman and oriental coins:  http://www.jbjcoins.dk/For%20sale/Roman/Roman.htm

Rudnik Numismatics   http://rudnik.com/new/custSearch1.php
    An awkward site to use (you have to pick your area of interest from a dropdown list), but with many rare Byzantine coins and many coins in other areas.

Ken Martins Museum Surplus  http://www.museumsurplus.com/

Persic Gallery  http://www.persicgallery.com/
    Parthian, Sasanian, Islamic, etc.

Cerberus Coins (Australia, Cameron Day)   http://www.cerberuscoins.com/

Bob Reis "Anything Anywhere"  http://anythinganywhere.com/index.htm
   Not often updated

Alexander Basok  "Rusty Pennies"  http://www.rustypennies.com/catalog/coins.html
    An very awkward site to use. You have to click on individual descriptions to see any images.

Sam Slote   http://www.sloatcoins.com/shopping.asp?sec=1-1

Wayne Sayles  http://wgs.cc/store/

Edgar L. Owen  http://edgarlowen.com/gallery-directory.shtml

Mullen Coins  https://www.mullencoins.com/ancients

Praefectus (John)  http://www.praefectuscoins.com/index.html

Vale Coins (UK)     http://www.coinsforsale.co.uk/index.htm

Roman Coin Shop (Netherlands) http://romancoinshop.com/

Pete Burbules (Akropolis Coins)   http://akropoliscoins.com/

Poseidon Coin Company (David)   http://www.poseidoncoincompany.com/main_bkgr_img.html 



Other sites, apparently of "vest pocket" dealers.

Kersch Ancient Coins   http://www.kersh.com/

Robert Bernobich  http://www.numisology.com/For_sale.htm
 
Et Tu Antiquities  http://ettuantiquities.com/roman_coin_selection_thumbnails.htm

Glenn Terry   http://www.glennterryart.com/?q=node/100

Wolf and Twins Antique Coins (Len Spevack)  http://pages.infinit.net/aurelius/homemenu.htm


Other English and European firms:

A. G. & S. Gillis   http://www.gilliscoins.com/coinage.htm

Zlatko Plesa  http://www.muenzen-plesa.de/de/

Klassiche Munzen (Dr. Michael Brant)  http://www.klassische-muenzen.de/

Alex. Alter Roemer Kunst & Antiquitaten   http://www.alteroemer.de/shop.php?kategorie=M

CoinTalk.com, a site with forums for discussing coins, allows members to post coins for sale. Most are not ancient, but some are:  https://www.cointalk.com/forums/for-sale/

 

 


If you have other sites you like, or you discover broken links, let me know at contact info

Revised April 12, 2017