Links to sites with ancient coins for sale.
    Contents:  Major fixed-price sites are listed first.  
        Sites with frequent auctions.     
        Sites with links to upcoming major auctions (auction consolidators).
        Fixed-price sites
        Other, smaller, fixed-price sites.
        English and European fixed-price sites.

Sites with many ancient coins for sale:
If you want to buy an ancient coin today and not wait, try these:

vcoins at vcoins.com is the "Ancient Coin Mall" with over 100 dealers and a great search engine. 

MA-Shops http://www.ma-shops.de/antike/
    A huge site much like vcoins, but focusing on European dealers.


Forum Ancient Coins, Joe Sermarini 
http://www.forumancientcoins.com/catalog/roman-and-greek-coins.asp
    He also lists some Forum coins on vcoins. His site also has an important discussion board with many topics well-arranged and frequent interesting contributions. This is a major site.

CNG   http://cngcoins.com/
    The most prominent dealer in the US, with major auctions of high quality coins, biweekly electronic auctions, and many high-quality fixed-price coins for sale. It also has a very large searchable database of previous sale results ("Research" on the top middle of the home page), which is a important research tool.



Fixed-price sites, not so large:

Augustus Coins   http://augustuscoins.com/index.html
    also has catalogs and books for sale at  http://augustuscoins.com/numislit.html

Bargain Bin Ancients   http://bargainbinancients.com/zen/index.php

Roman Coin Shop  https://www.romancoinshop.com/

 


Some sites have frequent auctions:
 

CNG Classical Numismatic Group)   http://cngcoins.com/   with (on the right side of their home page) auctions every two weeks

The auction site associated with vcoins    http://www.vauctions.com/

Pecunem   https://www.pecunem.com/   

Agora Auctions:   http://agoraauctions.com/

Jean Elsen & ses Fils          http://www.elsen.eu/    (A large firm in Belgium with regular auctions, e-auctions, and fixed-price coins as well) 

Numismatik Naumann   https://www.biddr.ch/auctions/numismatiknaumann/upcoming

Naville Numismatics   http://www.navillenumismatics.com/home-wts/

Harlan J. Berk (He hosts a large buy-or-bid sale of quality on his site and has some, but only a few, fixed-price lots in addition):
        https://www.hjbltd.com/


London Ancient Coins Ltd. (LAC)  http://www.lacoins.co.uk/products.aspx?id=1

Frank Robinson. A few good auctions a year:  www.fsrcoin.com

Forum 
has a "member's free auctions" part with individual items: 
      http://www.forumancientcoins.com/Auction/APViewInCat.asp?ID=5&CMD=&OwnerID=&SortBy=&VIEW=GALLERY&page=1

 


****** Major Auction Sites--Consolidators:

Many auctions, including most major upcoming auctions, and increasingly numerous e-auctions of major and minor firms, are listed at
SixBid  http://www.sixbid.com/

Numisbids:   https://www.numisbids.com/
    Still another portal to auctions, many the same as found at sixbid.

The web page you are reading does not list sites of firms with infrequent auctions that would be regularly listed on sixbid or Numisbids or Biddr.

Biddr:  https://www.biddr.ch/   "A live bidding platform that serves as an interface between Auction houses and on-line bidders."

Dea Moneta:  http://www.deamoneta.com/


A European site, Catawiki, for auctions of all kinds with numerous coin auctions (They accept credit cards, but do not accept PayPal): 
        https://auction.catawiki.com/#cw-link-coins-stamps    (Unlike most auctions, they have reserve prices--often much above the opening bids-so you can decide on and enter a bid and then be informed it did not meet the reserve.) 


eMaxBid:   http://emax.bid/en/  

bid inside  http://bidinside.com/

onebid.pl  (Polish auction consolidator)  https://onebid.pl/pl/aukcje/Monety

Delcampe  https://www.delcampe.net/en_GB/collectables/
    A large auction and fixed-price site with many sellers. Many fixed-price coins are overpriced; some are not.



Fixed-price sites

Augustus Coins  http://augustuscoins.com/index.html
    also has catalogs and books for sale at  http://augustuscoins.com/numislit.html

Bargain Bin Ancients   http://bargainbinancients.com/zen/index.php

Marc Breitsprecher (was Ancient Imports)  https://mrbcoins.com/   (He has a vcoins store, but many more coins for sale here.)

Roman Coin Shop  https://www.romancoinshop.com/


Nomos (Alan Walker)  http://www.nomosag.com/
    A major auction house in Switzerland (associated with CNG) with only very high-end coins for sale in their "webshop"

Ed Waddell     http://www.coin.com/     (another site with only high-end coins

Civitas Galleries   http://www.civitasgalleries.com/cgi/store/commerce.cgi?page=ancienthome.html   
       (They have a vcoins store too. Sometimes the prices differ.)

Bill Rosenblum http://rosenblumcoins.com/
    A long-established dealer specializing in Jewish-related coins. He has auctions, too.

Baldwin's  http://www.baldwin.co.uk/    http://www.baldwin.co.uk/coins/ancient.html   (specifically for fixed-price ancients)
  London, England. They have major auctions and fixed-price lists. They are one of the most prominent dealers in English coins and they also offer many high-quality ancient coins.

Classical Coins, Dave Welsh   http://www.classicalcoins.com/

Silvae Coins and Antiques (Beverly Hills, California)  http://silvaecoins.com/

Tantalus     http://www.tantaluscoins.com/forsale.php
    Many members of this site offer coins for sale. Most are low grade and overpriced by hopeful owners.

Steven Album   http://www.stevealbum.com/
     The most prominent dealer in Islamic coins.

Nova Marketing   http://novamarketing.ch/   (many high-quality ancient coins)

Time Line Originals   http://www.time-lines.co.uk/

iNumis (French firm) http://www.inumis.com/

Zuzum Judaea  http://www.zuzimcoins.com/

J.B.J Coins, (John Jensen) Copenhagen Denmark.  Oriental (Parthian, Persis, etc.):  http://www.jbjcoins.dk/For%20sale.htm
    Many Roman and oriental coins:  http://www.jbjcoins.dk/For%20sale/Roman/Roman.htm

Rudnik Numismatics   http://rudnik.com/new/custSearch1.php
    An awkward site to use (The worst on the web. You have to pick your area of interest from a dropdown list), but with many rare Byzantine coins and many coins in other areas.

Ken Martins Museum Surplus  http://www.museumsurplus.com/

Persic Gallery  http://www.persicgallery.com/
    Parthian, Sasanian, Islamic, etc.

Cerberus Coins (Australia, Cameron Day)   http://www.cerberuscoins.com/

Bob Reis "Anything Anywhere"  http://anythinganywhere.com/index.htm
   Not often updated

Alexander Basok  "Rusty Pennies"  http://www.rustypennies.com/catalog/coins.html
    An very awkward site to use. You have to click on individual descriptions to see any images.

Sam Slote   http://www.sloatcoins.com/shopping.asp?sec=1-1

Wayne Sayles  http://www.wgs.cc/shop/


Edgar L. Owen  http://edgarlowen.com/gallery-directory.shtml

Mullen Coins  https://www.mullencoins.com/ancients

Praefectus (John)  http://www.praefectuscoins.com/index.html

Vale Coins (UK)     http://www.coinsforsale.co.uk/index.htm

Pete Burbules (Akropolis Coins)   http://akropoliscoins.com/

Poseidon Coin Company (David)   http://www.poseidoncoincompany.com/main_bkgr_img.html 

Ancient Coin Traders (Peter, Australia)   http://www.ancientcointraders.com/



Other sites, apparently of "vest pocket" dealers.

Robert Bernobich  http://www.numisology.com/For_sale.htm
 
Et Tu Antiquities  http://ettuantiquities.com/roman_coin_selection_thumbnails.htm

Glenn Terry   http://www.glennterryart.com/?q=node/100

 


Other English and European firms:
 

Roma Numismatics    http://romanumismatics.com/     (A major auction firm with a fixed-price shop with high-end coins) 

cgb.fr              https://www.cgb.fr/     (A large auction firm in France with a fixed-price shop. They also list on MA-Shops)

A. G. & S. Gillis   https://www.gilliscoins.com/coinage.htm

Zlatko Plesa  http://www.muenzen-plesa.de/de/

Klassiche Munzen (Dr. Michael Brant)  http://www.klassische-muenzen.de/

Alex. Alter Roemer Kunst & Antiquitaten   http://www.alteroemer.de/shop.php?kategorie=M

Rondomons.nl (Hans Verschoor, in the Netherlands)  http://www.rondomons.nl/

CoinTalk.com, a site with forums for discussing coins, allows members to post coins for sale. Most are not ancient, but some are:  https://www.cointalk.com/forums/for-sale/

 


If you have other sites you like, or you discover broken links, let me know at contact info

Revised June 19, 2018